04
Jun
12

AW1 Tim:

I wanted to write a new article for today, it being the 70th anniversary of Midway. However, real life interferes so here is a repost of an article from 2 years ago.

Originally posted on AW1 Tim's Blog:

Scott the Badger reminds us all that today, 4 June, marks the 68th anniversary of Torpedo 8’s famous attack against the Japanese fleet during the Battle of Midway.  Of the core group onboard Hornet, 15 aircraft went into battle that day, and all  were shot down by Japanese fighters or anti-aircraft fire, with the loss of every man except one, Ensign George Gay.

VT-8 was equipped with Douglas TBD Devastators, a relatively slow and out-classed aircraft.  A portion of the squadron was stateside, receiving the new Grumman TBF Avenger. These crews missed the sailing of USS Hornet, and so flew their aircraft in a series of stages to Midway, where they launched in support of operations against the Japanese fleet. Another detachment of VT-8 was left behind at Pearl Harbor, and sailed with USS Saratoga. Upon transferring to Hornet, they learned of the loss of…

View original 170 more words

13 Responses to “”


  1. December 6, 2013 at 12:31

    I really like what you guys tend to be up too.
    This type of clever work and exposure! Keep
    up the terrific works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  2. December 24, 2013 at 23:33

    I’m not sure why but this site is loading incredibly slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?

    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  3. December 31, 2013 at 06:38

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  4. January 2, 2014 at 07:14

    I am гegular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This article рosted at this website іѕ truly fastidious.

  5. March 10, 2014 at 17:29

    All this information is great, but how would
    you use it to aromatherapy. You can simply look around the Internet and while doing in order to try to find reviews on various models you could be considering.
    Kick the smoking habit for that health of the loved ones.

  6. March 14, 2014 at 22:06

    You’ve made some really good points there. I checked on the web for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  7. March 25, 2014 at 22:26

    That is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your feed and stay up foor seeking more of yur excellent post.
    Also, I have shared your websit inn myy social networks

  8. March 27, 2014 at 16:56

    You really make it seem really easy along with your
    presentation but I to find this matter to be really
    one thing which I believe I’d by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and very large for me. I’m looking forward on your next post,
    I’ll try to get the cling of it!

  9. April 29, 2014 at 08:54

    What i do not realize is in truth how you’re now not
    actually a lot more well-appreciated than you may be right now.
    You’re very intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably
    with regards to this subject, made me for my part imagine it from
    numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved until
    it’s something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs great.
    Always deal with it up!

  10. May 3, 2014 at 12:22

    This is a very good tip especially to those fresh to
    the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate information… Many thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read post!

  11. June 12, 2014 at 15:44

    - Those who need to perform basic tasks such as surfing the Internet, write documents
    using a text editor, working with spreadsheets and so
    on. One piece of hardware that is worth upgrade, if possible, is the display.
    Consequently to muddle through the circumstances,
    used laptops play a significant role.

  12. June 26, 2014 at 18:19

    First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question which I’d
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center
    yourself and clear your head prior to writing.
    I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Thank you!

  13. July 4, 2014 at 02:14

    Attractive component to content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital
    to assert that I acquire actually loved account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing for your augment and even I success you get entry to constantly quickly.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

