04
Feb
10

Idiot Mainers Want Kennedy

 A group of Mainers from in and around Portland, Maine are trying to bring USS Kennedy to that poor city to serve as some sort of tourist magnet. It'll be a magnet, all right. A magnet for money that will disappear into a bottomless hole of maintenance, cleaning, and operating costs that will, in short order, bankrupt anyone that comes involved.

USS Kennedy to Portland, Maine?

   Nice idea on paper. Staggeringly bad idea when you run the numbers.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

6 Responses to “Idiot Mainers Want Kennedy”


  1. February 6, 2010 at 13:41

    When I heard the U.S.S. American was target of a SINKEX, I thought "How Terrible". How COULD they sink the nations namesake as part of a destructive trial?

  2. February 6, 2010 at 16:17

    To this yardbird, the best thing that could happen to that carrier is a SINKEX. I grew to have an intense dislike for this ship and her crew, the exact opposite of my experiences on the Saratoga and Forrestal. She is in poor shape, having had a bobtail SLEP cut in half back in the late 90's, and had been skimped on maintainence ever since. An expensive bandaid was placed on her in 2003, where the better part of 600 million was spent on her. Still, there was a LOT of work not done that should have been done.
    And for what it's worth, it's gonna cost them a ton of money to fix hangar bay door #2; After I'd welded the stops down to the deck (and the machinery tagged out) some rocket scientist tried to open the door. It moved a whole half inch when a lot of ugly sounds came out of the machinery space.
    Good luck on making this floating wreck a museum, though. You'd be better off grabbing Sara or the Fid.

  3. February 6, 2010 at 16:41

    Byron, My point exactly. The idiots who want this hulk ought to be sat down and forced to watch a rerun of "Mr. Blanding Builds His Dream House". It is a money pit, and there is no possible way that it will ever turn a single nickle of profit. I'd even be willing to set up a pool that she won't even make it to Portland Maine before sinking.

  4. February 7, 2010 at 02:05

    Let Boston have her, it would serve them right.

  5. February 7, 2010 at 11:14

    I only saw part of the movie, but the book, Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House is fantastic. It's one of the books that I find I must reread once evry couple of years. Like Wind in the Willows, and LOTR.

  6. February 8, 2010 at 11:52

    I'm sorry the rest of my comments got truncated or deleted from my original comment. It makes me look like I thought it WAS a terrible idea, but after examining the alternatives, I think that was a good option to dispose of 80 thousand tons of deteriorating steel. And my additional paragraph about shooting a high def video of the whole interior still holds. I would buy a copy, if for no reason is I saw maybe 10% of the America when I was on there…. and curiosity makes me want to see the rest of what went where.Those ships of the class were extremely complicated conglomerations of machinery. I'd like to have seen more of it, and maybe would have except I hated most of the three years I spent on it. Call it old regrets. Call it nostalgia. Call it morbid curiosity. Whatever, I'd still like to see the rest of the boat.


Leave a Reply

