14
May
10

A Lesson In Perspective.

Are you really going to believe your lying eyes? Why eyewitness testimony is always trumoed by physical evidence.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “A Lesson In Perspective.”


  1. 1 SCOTTtheBADGER
    May 14, 2010 at 06:36

    I saw that earlier today, on another site. I want the plans to make one of those!

  2. May 15, 2010 at 16:09

    The only thing wrong with “eyewitness” testimony is that most people are never trained to actually observe things or a scene, much less retain the details for extrapolation later. I think because I grew up on a desert (or maybe its an Apache thing) I learned to pull discrete elements out of what I was looking at and retain that detail. With everything “looking” the same on a desert if you simply scanned it without thinking you would think it was all the same. But not to me and others that I lived there with, we would see the details, the cottontail huddled under a tumble week, or the a snake sunning on a path (not a stick), the difference between a mound of dry buffalo grass and a grouse.

    This came in handy when I was in the Navy and was trained as a Final Checker working the flight deck for my Squadron. I could see the difference in alignment of the landing gear linkage in amongst all the similar looking pipes and rods without actually putting my face into the mess. Paid off more than once. Had all the Mech’s in the squadron how it was possible that a lowly AT could do that. My secret was that I did not simply look at things en mass, I saw detail.

    BT: Jimmy T sends.

  3. May 15, 2010 at 17:51

    JimmyT,

    Agreed. It was the same where we AW’s got drilled on recognition and learning to look for differences between various images of the same ship at different times, etc. Also for doing searches over open water. Looking for something out of place, something moving, etc.


Leave a Reply

