19
May
10

Are Some Veterans More Equal Than Others?

Over to “The Burn Pit“, the official blog of the American Legion,  Mothax posts a question, “are some veterans more equal than others?”  and it’s something I would encourage all to read and ponder. Comment here if you like, or over there. No registration required. Mothax asks this question in light of the Blumenthall Scandal, regarding “Vietnam Veterans” vs “Vietnam-Era Veterans”, and other wars, etc.

My own answer comes from the last line of John Milton‘s Sonnet XIX:

WHEN I consider how my light is spent,
Ere half my days in this dark world and wide,
And that one talent which is death to hide
Lodged with me useless, though my soul more bent
To serve therewith my Maker, and present
My true account, lest He returning chide,
‘Doth God exact day-labour, light denied?’
I fondly ask.  But patience, to prevent
That murmur, soon replies, ‘God doth not need
Either man’s work or his own gifts. Who best
Bear his mild yoke, they serve him best.  His state
Is kingly: thousands at his bidding speed,
And post o’er land and ocean without rest;
They also serve who only stand and wait.’



6 Responses to “Are Some Veterans More Equal Than Others?”


  1. 1 xbradtc
    May 19, 2010 at 17:50

    It really doesn’t matter what you did if you sully your honor by lying about it later.

  2. 3 Sub-Chief
    May 23, 2010 at 22:34

    Osiyo (Cherokee Greetings)

    Everyone gave some…Some gave all.

    You went where and when you were ordered.

    The guilt associated with PTSD effects the veteran who is kept out of combat, and is the relieve felt by his/her family.

    My family has fought in this country’s wars from Vietnam to and prior the Revolutionary War period.

    I was more than ready to go into the fight, but was not used in that capacity; does this fact make me something other than a Vietnam Veteran?

    Wado (Thanks),
    Chief Gonahena
    Cherokee Warrior and Medicine Priest

  3. May 23, 2010 at 23:30

    Hau Kola, Gonahena,

    Anyone who raised their hand and swore the oath, they are my brother.

    oholaya,

  4. June 28, 2010 at 11:58

    How about the guys in the Navy? I served from 1970-1992. During Vetnam, but I was on Submarines. They didn’t have much of a call for Subs during that period of time. But
    how about the Cold War. We went places that I would have to kill you if I told you about
    them. Or chaseing the Russan Subs and following them around the big blue pond. Are we
    any less a Vet? If you stood up, and did what Uncle Sam told you to do, then you are a
    Vet. God Bless America and the Men and Women of our Armed Forces and their families that
    put up with their loved one being gone and standing up for our Freedom!!


Leave a Reply

