03
Jun
10

I Need To Vent

I’ve been holding my tongue and trying to be calm since Memorial Day, but I really need to say a few things. I am sick to death of most of my fellow Americans.  I don’t care how many say the right things, it’s actions which speak louder than words, and having seen my fellow citizens in action, I am of a mind to start drinking and not sober up.

Monday, with my youngest in tow, I headed out for the local parade and the ceremonies which follow. Hundreds of the locals lined the sidewalks. It was a great turnout, but considering their lack of respect and general manners, I would have rather they stayed at home.

Set aside the obese folks, the people wearing clothes never designed for their body shapes. Pink shorts and spandex tops are NOT designed for 200+ pound females, especially those who would charitably max out at 5’4″  high. No, my complaint comes from the ignorant, lazy attitudes of those watching the parade.

FEW bothered to stand up, let alone salute the colors as they passed by. It was easy to spot the veterans in the parade. They were the ones rendering honors. the rest were busy sucking on their water bottles and fanning themselves, waiting to be entertained!  Veterans and their families stood and rendered honors, but hundreds just sat and stared at them, wondering what all the fuss was about.

Later, at the memorial service for those local citizens who had been lost in service of their country, it was much of the same. Whether for the prayers, benediction, presentation of wreaths, colors, or even taps, many just sat on their asses and watched with bored indifference the proceedings. It was pitiful to see, and infuriating.

More and more, I am of the belief that Robert Heinlein had it right in his concept of citizenship in his novel “Starship Troopers”. I agree with him. Citizenship should be available only to those with military service. If you don’t want to serve, then that is fine. However, only those with honorable military service may vote, hold elective office, have a government job, or be eligible for government benefits.  The price of citizenship should involve some form of national service, particularly military service. If you are NOT willing to risk your life on behalf of your nation, to ensure and protect the blessings of liberty, then you have no right to claim those for yourself.

I’ll be back to normal posting tomorrow. Hopefully, my blood pressure will be down by then.  🙂

16 Responses to “I Need To Vent”


  1. June 3, 2010 at 00:36

    Shame is, to most people, it is a holiday to get time and a half.

    BTW, unless the current blindness that was caused by your blog subsides in the next couple of days, you will need to start publishing in Braille.

    • June 3, 2010 at 00:53

      Heh… sorry about that. I’d suggest a course of bourbon, followed by a nice movie or two.

      I’ll bet she’s a party animal with the marines, though… 🙂

      respects,

  2. June 3, 2010 at 01:28

    Don’t go to a MLB game anytime soon, the idiots during the national anthem were enough to get my blood boiling the last time I attended a game in Arlington.

  3. June 3, 2010 at 01:39

    Oh sure, you had to throw “honorable” in there. Kill one Filipino hooker and it’s “no voting for you pal!”

  4. 6 unkawill
    June 3, 2010 at 02:19

    I’m up for the getting drunk part! Here at Bagram, she would weigh in at about mid 5 to low 6 on the hotness scale. Minus the beer goggles, due to General Order #1

    A Bagram 10= USA 4

    I am sooooooo Looking Forward to evaluating honest to God, female beauty again, with and without the aforementioned goggles.

  5. June 3, 2010 at 04:54

    Sad.
    And oh… I was thinking the same thing about fat people this weekend while I was in Tucson.

  6. 9 ewok40k
    June 3, 2010 at 07:20

    Henlein had it mostly right. But the easiest way to do it is a making every citizen a soldier, Swiss way. Otherwise we end with caste system.
    And for those who dont want to harm other humans themselves, serve as unarmed paramedics or the like… or civilian reconstructioin teams going to the war zones.

  7. 10 Scott "Scooter Pie" Cochran, AW1 Retired
    June 3, 2010 at 22:18

    These kind of people, which unfortuantley are the marjority in America, do not appreciate the freedoms they have which are because of those that have died and are still living that served in the military to secure freedom and maintain such. God help us becuase these are the ones that are “suppose” to fight the next war….excuse me……they will roll over and play dead. We will never win another war due to the heart and soul like those in the past. It is all give me and I take, not what can I do for my country. And worse is that what we see is the current generation, I cannot even begin to imagine what the next generation will be like (if we ever make it to another generation). I would not blame God if he changed his mind and flooded the earth again. At least there are those like us that still stand for something and hope in some way we can make a difference in someone’s life. I and you are still on patrol even now, its just a different war. Get some crew rest my brother as we must fly another mission tomorrow to meet the enemy.

    • June 4, 2010 at 06:14

      You are right as usual, shipmate. I’ve been under the weather the past couple days, and pushing myself to get some other work done. There just are not enough hours in the day, lately. Ah well.

      I hope to have the next installment of ORION out in a few days. Doing some research to keep all the details in play.

      Respects,

  8. 12 Byron
    June 4, 2010 at 08:32

    There’s a misconception about “Starship Troopers”: everyone thinks you have to be former military to be a citizen. Not true. You had to be willing to offer one year service to the nation. You could be clearing a malaria infested swamp. A paraplegic could offer to test new drugs on himself. The object was to place one’s life in federal service’s hands. This goes back to the Declarition: “We pleged our lives, our fortunes and our sacred honor”. Granted, most took the military option. But the federal government that took over earth realized that not everyone could be in the military that they had to have a way for anyone with the committment to the nation to serve that nation.

  9. 13 Byron
    June 4, 2010 at 08:35

    Almost forgot…that whole not standing for the Anthem thing? Doesn’t happen in NASCAR. Us round and round fans are crazy patriotic. The military is always part of our pre-race ceremonies in some manner. You should have seen it Sunday for the Coke 600 race, there was military everywhere doing all kinds of cool things. Not only that, but before the Anthem, at EVERY race, there’s a prayer/invocation and EVERYONE stands up.

    Ya’ll can keep those other sports, I’ll take NASCAR any day.

    • 14 ClarkWard
      June 5, 2010 at 11:11

      I will grant you NASCAR bubbas that… no arguing with the patriotism there 🙂 It’s funny how when I’m at a race, where everyone’s standing, the bozos who don’t uncover get my goat. Ah well. At least they stand and sing the national anthem, which is a damn sight more than most! Now if I can get NASCAR to add in 10 more road courses and a few less ovals 😉

      • 15 Byron
        June 6, 2010 at 13:27

        Clark, there’s quite a few of the NASCAR guys that race the road courses. Jimmy Johnson raced one set of the Watkins Glen GT race yesterday and did respectable well since he was in third place when he pitted for the driver change. The same is NOT true of most GT and Grand Prix racers.

  10. 16 SCOTT the BADGER
    June 4, 2010 at 13:41

    It’s 4 June! Everyone have a nice Midway Day, and think of Torpedo 8.


Leave a Reply

